Star Wars Dress Up Party!

I had a pretty eventful weekend and have realised that as a pregnant lady, I still do get out and about a bit. No, I’m not like partying every night, but my initial impression of pregnancy made me think I’d be bedridden by this point.

That being said, I do feel pretty tired haha! Oh well, early nights are always good.

The highlight of the week was probably my brother-in-law’s 30th birthday party, which was a Star Wars Dress Up party! I have to admit I don’t know a lot about Star Wars (even after doing a crash course a few weeks ago) but it was still fun to dress up!

A few weeks ago, I discussed my Star Wars costume (and eventually plucked up the courage to wear it): https://ligurl27.wordpress.com/2013/06/16/costumes-and-other-crises/

And the finished product is…

Image

Tada! Okay, tights at 33 weeks of pregnancy are a bit risqué but cut me some slack – I was just staying in character. My hubby grew a beard to be Obi Wan Kenobi. In a way, I wanted him to dress up at C3PO (that gold English-accent robot) because I know he would have been really quite funny.

There was a Star Wars quiz and I’m quite proud that I knew answers to at least a third of the questions. One question which I guessed right was “Who acted as Queen Amidala’s double?” – it was Keira Knightley! She’s one of my favourite actresses and she does look quite a bit like Natalie Portman, you have to admit. It’s also funny because I can’t think of Count Dooku as anyone else other than Saruman.

Just some trivia for you – some actors you didn’t know were in Star Wars. I actually don’t know anyone there but Keira Knightley (and I thought George Lucas was a director/writer not an actor), but here it is: http://movieline.com/2011/09/17/9-actors-you-didnt-know-were-in-star-wars-movies/

Image

In line with the Star Wars theme, I made some mini death stars! They’re actually just Weetbix balls but they are pretty yummy – and all it takes is some Weetbix, some condensed milk, melted chocolate (or cocoa powder) and shredded coconut.

I asked Daniel to pick up a tin of condensed milk for my recipe, and he got three (as they were on offer – he has learned well!). As a Malaysian who loves her condensed milk, I had Teh Halia with my breakfast – which is basically hot ginger tea with about 2-3 tablespoons of condensed milk… yum!

Image

Who says you need alcohol, loud music and excessive frivolity to make a party cool? I love my family and friends here in Australia because they’re all so sporting and never let the enthusiasm waver! Everyone was clad in some sort of costume and joined in the fun.

We’ve had previous awesome parties too, like a Christmas water fight, a Pirate party, a Disney dress up party, etc. What would be your favourite party theme?

And on a final note, I found a new little friend here (who hides a bit of my baby bump) – yay, Yoda! 🙂 Have a great week, you will, everybody! 🙂

Image

Leave a Reply

