Where did all these ideas come from?

I realise I’ve been out of the game for a bit, probably because I’m having the cold of the year. I’m the type of person who (luckily) only gets sick once in a while, and unfortunately that time is now. It’s one of those head colds that I can’t stand, where your head, face, nose and everything in between aches.

But anyway, I’m making the most of it by lazing around on the couch (in Skittles’ spot, because she’s sleeping in mine!) and reading random things on the internet.

One thing I’m pondering at the moment is starting or buying a business. The problem with me is I don’t actually know where to start – I can’t seem to focus my efforts into one particular area. I’ve had the following ideas in the past year:

1. Starting an Asian BBQ & Hotpot restaurant in the North Eastern suburbs

Image

My friends and I love Korean BBQ and Hotpot – here’s one of our favourite places in the city, Kind Spring, which has a great buffet variety and an awesome glutinous rice dessert (which we usually have seconds of). I despair at the fact that if I want good Korean BBQ or Chinese Hotpot, I have to travel all the way into the city. And if there are any up this way, I haven’t yet discovered any (and believe me, I do my research!). So yes, to satisfy my cravings (and possibly the cravings of the Asian population up here), perhaps start my own?

2. Starting my own Childcare Centre
So what if I know nothing about childcare? There’s always the opportunity to learn (and I have a good reason to learn too!). There are also opportunities for family day cares, which you can run from home – I’ve subscribed to this one as it’s int he local area, and there is potential for more startups in my area: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Early-Childhood-Learning-Family-Daycare/422785871141790?fref=ts

3. Starting my own PT Business
Yes, I don’t know much about Personal Training either but I’m sure it’d be something I enjoy doing (I love coaching people and helping them achieve their goals) and I could get a qualification at some point too. My target market would probably be other mums who, like myself, will need to lose some baby weight. I could even take up a Zumba qualification (since I LOVE Zumba) and run some classes – see how it goes. It’ll certainly keep me healthy and fit!

Image

See, I once used to be fit and agile! XD

4. Teaching music classes
I’ve played the piano practically all my life and been through so many classes that I honestly should know a thing or two about how to teach it. Of course, my technique isn’t great and I’m more of a play by ear person than a Chopin person, but it’s definitely something doable (with little capital involved too, since I already have my beloved piano). I could also teach some basic guitar, singing, etc.

5. Buying over a small already-established business
I keep an eye out for different business opportunities – I would love to start one up from scratch, but I feel I lack the experience. I’ve been looking into various different options like spas and clothing businesses, etc. Obviously, this may give me a less personalised approach, but I’m sure I can work my preferences into it.

6. Buying an investment property
There’s a lot happening in the market now and the interest rate is at an all time low, so why not? I was also hoping that my previous experience in real estate would assist me. Of course, we’d need to come up with some capital and also make some calculated decisions. Frankly, I enjoy looking at houses that are way beyond my means, like this one: http://www.realestate.com.au/property-house-sa-houghton-113899063

7. Writing and more writing…
I’ve always enjoyed writing, and will always have it as my little niche. I would love to write a book though (as I mentioned in a previous post), and of course, smaller bits and pieces too like articles and blog posts. Perhaps someday I’ll monetize this blog, when I can determine my direction. But it’s always good to do something you truly love.

I have so many ideas, but I guess this shouldn’t be my main priority at present – I should be focusing on giving my little one the best upbringing I could possibly give him/her. This photo below is just to prove that he/she has little cute toes!

Image

Anyway, I also read this amazing piece of news about this man surviving both the Hiroshima and Nagasaki bombing (being in a 3km radius of the bombing) and living on til the age of 93. The article is from 2009, and he died in 2010 of stomach cancer. Still, it was amazing that he was blessed with a good long life despite being exposed to such radiation.

You can read the story here: http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2009/mar/25/hiroshima-nagasaki-survivor-japan

Keep well everybody, especially those in the Southern Hemisphere who are having trouble coping in winter months! 

Leave a Reply

