Escape to Port Elliot

One thing I thought I’d miss after having a baby was going on holiday getaways (hence why I had a couple of extravagant babymoons). However, when our friends suggested a weekend trip to Port Elliot, we were tempted. Jacob had never been to the beach and it’s the quiet time of year for travel, so we thought – why not?

Image

We stayed at the local YHA which was right by the beach, overlooking Horseshoe bay. Why would you stay at a Backpackers with a baby, you might ask? Well, it was quiet at the place and we only saw about 10 other guests in the place, so it really was quite comfortable. It was good having a fully equipped kitchen there (we cooked lunch and breakfast) and the common areas were really quite comfortable too.

My only complaint would probably be about the communal bathrooms which made it hard to bathe the baby, but we survived! 🙂 Also, my husband copped some leg injuries from basketball and our room was upstairs, so that was a bit of a pain. I didn’t want him to overexert himself so I carried all our stuff down from the room (took me 3 trips) and I nearly left his computer behind! 😦

WP_20131116_010

One thing we noticed is that Port Elliot has some awesome spots for a wedding. There is a memorial garden which is quite commonly used for weddings, and also some beautiful spots like up on the lookout or down by the beach. Almost made me want to get married again (but then again, my wedding was in a gorgeous spot too)!

We made a BBQ lunch and had delicious fish and chips for dinner. Jacob slept like an angel right through dinner (at the time where he normally fusses the most) – maybe the sea breeze rocked him to sleep… We also played Uno and Dutch Blitz (which is a relatively confusing card game) til about 11pm and he slept peacefully in his pram til we went to bed.

The weather wasn’t so nice the next day (we had to wrap little Jacob up) but clearly we were in good spirits still:

20131117_104026

As a natural progression, these are my Top 5 tips when travelling with an infant:

5. Don’t go long haul straight away. I agreed to this trip because I thought it would be a good starting point for him, as next year in January, we’re planning on doing a bit of a road trip. Of course, if a long haul trip is unavoidable, fair enough – but I think babies need time. That being said, they shouldn’t be completely sheltered either or else they may struggle to cope in different situations.

4. Keep things familiar for him. I made sure he still had elements of his everyday life (like his playmat, pram, etc.) I think babies can cope with some change, though best not to push them with too much. I know one thing Jacob would struggle with is a climate change – he doesn’t really like hot weather, and I’m not sure how he’d take to humid weather if we go to visit Malaysia.

3. Always pack extra. If he needs 6 nappies, bring 10. If he needs 2 sets of clothing, bring 4 in case. You never know what he might pee/poo/spew on, and they’re so tiny anyway that you could pack his whole wardrobe if you wanted to.

2. Stick to his routine. I don’t have a fixed everyday routine with Jacob as we’re in the middle of a season change, so I’m just doing things by demand. However, I still have a bedtime routine which includes a bath, quiet playtime and then swaddle/sleep. I stuck to that and he was pretty settled.

1. Expect anything to happen and improvise. I was honestly very lucky on this trip that Jacob was settled and happy to sleep in a slightly different environment. However, if he wasn’t going to sleep in the bed, I would’ve been willing to push him around in his pram or drive him around in our car til he fell asleep. Or if he was really unhappy or sick or something like that, I’d have aborted the trip. Baby comes first! 🙂

WP_20131116_004

Just on an ending note, I received my letter from the Australian government stating that I have Australian Permanent Residency. Yay! 🙂 It certainly made my week. Have a great one everyone!

2 thoughts on “Escape to Port Elliot

  1. Aiyo, how many times u want to get married? :p n of course Jacob will adapt to msian climate n not be a tofu. He is after all 1/2 msian!

    • He’s a winter baby, remember – he doesn’t really like warm weather. Fine, I’m happy to be married just once but who says you only need to have one honeymoon? 😛

Leave a Reply

