3 amazing months…

Image

Hello, my name is Jacob and I’m 3 months old today! I have big feet, a tubby tummy and I never hardly ever smile at the camera.

I’m Wednesday’s child and was born in the year of the Snake – just like my mummy and my grandma. Wednesday’s children are supposed to be full of woe, but I don’t see any reason to be woeful at all. 🙂

I love my life. I wake up around 6.30am every morning (much to mummy’s delight) and conveniently go back to sleep once she’s just given up on falling back asleep again. However, I compensate for this by letting her have nice long showers as I love lying in the bathtub listening to the shower and exhaust fan running. I also don’t mind lying in the sink but I’m a bit too big for it now…

baby

The rest of the day goes by and I just play by ear. I sometimes go out grocery shopping with mummy and ride in the carrier. Sometimes mummy walks Skittles while carrying me, but lately she’s been waiting for daddy to come home first as I’m getting heavy. And then we have a luxurious bath at night (usually with daddy), read a nice book and go to sleep.

Mummy and I were reading about what babies should be doing at 3 months old:
http://www.babycenter.com.au/a718/your-3-month-olds-development

I’m supposed to be able to hold my head steady – I’m not too bad at it, really, but I still faceplant sometimes. My arm, leg and hand coordination has improved and I can actually grab things though half the time I just grab my own shirt. My sleeping patterns actually used to be better before, but I’m going back to longer stints at night – mummy, bear with me. I can clearly recognise mummy and daddy though, and I love to look at them every day!

They love to read me books and I can’t wait for Christmas when I’ll get more books. My mum believes it’s good to hear different languages, so she speaks to me in Malay and tries to speak Mandarin and Japanese (though she can’t speak them very well, but I won’t tell her that). It’s also good for me to touch different textures and interact with people – I’ve always interacted though, but now I really pay attention!

It’s amazing that 3 months ago, I used to be really tiny and wrinkly:

20130821_113910

But then I grew, and grew, and grew. I was 3.5kg when I was born – today when mummy weighed me, I was about 6.4kg!

I have a few notable skills such as crying, squealing and flailing my legs and arms about. I have a naughty habit of pointing my middle finger at things, but I hope to grow out of it. However, my most notable one is probably the fact that I grunt when I experience a downward motion. Like if mummy’s carrying me and she sits down on the sofa. Mum and dad have videos of this, I think, and may show them at my 21st birthday.

My favourite food and drink at the moment is breastmilk, though my hands come a close second – I just can’t stop putting them in my mouth! I love colourful toys and often try to taste them. My favourite things to look at are the dangly things in my baby gym, my bug mobile and the fan when it’s turned on. I also love smiling at that little baby in the mirror – gosh, he’s handsome. Today I touched him but he was cold and hard – I was unimpressed.

20131121_121046

I’d like to say that I’m a well-traveled baby. I’ve traveled to many a shopping mall and regularly go out to a church in the Adelaide Hills where I routinely fall asleep in sermons. I enjoyed my visit to Port Elliot and can’t wait to watch the cricket with mummy and daddy next month. Also, I might note that I’m going to be playing baby Jesus on one of the nights at the Lobethal Lights. You can get my autograph later, thanks.

I’ve realised that mummy doesn’t really dress me like a baby – she dresses me like how she dresses daddy. Hence I’ve got hoodies, jackets, button up shirts, trackies and jeans. I wear overalls too, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen daddy wear overalls.

At the moment, my current issue is that I don’t sleep enough – or rather, I’m not interested enough in sleep. I love being awake and just doing things – it’s so much fun, you know? But I guess I do need my sleep or else I become a cranky bum at night.

20131112_204052

My best friends are mummy and daddy. They are a bit strange at times but I love being with them. I hope to grow big and strong so I can do the things that they do (but I think I’ll always be the cutest in the family).

8 thoughts on “3 amazing months…

Leave a Reply

