Hyped up for The Hobbit!

For those of you who don’t know, I’m actually crazy about all things Middle Earth. It’s been a long time since The Lord of the Rings movie came out but I love it just the same. And yes, I have actually read the books too.

When The Fellowship of the Ring came out in 2001, my mum insisted that I read the book before I go to watch the movie. My uncle gave me the book to read – not just The Fellowship of the Ring, but the full 3 books in one – it had over 1000 pages. I was on school holidays, so I sat and I read. And read. And read.

Something I may have forgotten to mention is that in 2001, I was only 11 years old. And I must admit that it was quite heavy reading for an 11 year old. I was also speed reading to make sure I read it in time – 5 days (and nights) later, I did it (and got to watch the movie).

It’s funny because in contrast, I remember Daniel talking to his friends about how they watched that movie when they were in college. It’s times like these that the age gap between us (7 years) shows – but of course, it doesn’t bother us now. It would have been a bit odd if he were trying to date me when he was 18 and I was 11, though…

I think I read The Hobbit after I read the Lord of the Rings, and found that book a lot easier to digest. I always hoped they would make a movie of it, as I grew quite fond of Bilbo and the Dwarves. I have a soft spot for hobbits because I look like one next to Daniel – although sometimes I look more like Gollum. What do you think?

IMG_5282Anyway, Daniel and I watched the first installment of The Hobbit again last night, and I’m really excited to be going to the movies again! Jacob will be looked after by his grandparents (thank youuu!) and I hope he’ll be well behaved.

Short post today as I have lots of housework to do! I don’t believe Jacob is a basket case but he seems to think otherwise…

basket

4 thoughts on “Hyped up for The Hobbit!

  1. i also read the Hobbit after LOTR…and LOVE the new Hobbit movies far more than the LOTR productions. i find them more focused, better-paced, and more exciting lol! good idea to re-watch the first Hobbit though, because we went to Smaug after a year and were like “is this a even continuation of the first one?”. then we re-watched the first installment and were like “oh…duh. 100% total continuity.” haha! Jacob is looking super cute omg. i want to squish his cheeks!! 😀

    • Yeah, initially I thought it was a whole moneymaking thing to make 3 installments of The Hobbit but I really enjoy the fact that they’re putting in side stories, etc. Love it! Yeah I’m the type that re-watches stuff before the next installment comes out. I know i’m going to re-watch Game of Thrones just before the new episodes come out!

Leave a Reply

