Australia Day

Today is Australia Day and I can bet you that there are thousands of people at the beach! I really wanted to go to the beach this weekend so we went yesterday. Silly me decided to bring the pram along (as I forgot to bring a hat, silly mummy) so I couldn’t go on the sand, but it was lovely to be up on the boardwalk as I got to take a few shots from a different perspective.

Image

Trying to smile but it’s just a little bit too sunny! Daddy took him right to the water, but only for a little while so he wouldn’t get burnt.

20140125_175003

For those of you who know Adelaide, this is Semaphore beach and it’s probably my favourite beach. I love the fact that they usually have some sort of fun fair going on (and even if they don’t they still have that waterslide and mini golf). I love the row of shops as well which have a whole lot of interesting things to look at, great fish and chips as well as yummy ice cream!

Australia Day marks the anniversary of the British’s arrival in Australia and, understandably, is sometimes called “Invasion Day” as well. While I don’t have any strong emotions about this particular event, I like to join in the festivities anyway and celebrate the unity of being in Australia (though I’m not Australian yet).

I was planning to head out to an Australia Day breakfast but we valued our sleep in a bit more. We did get to have pancakes for brekky though – yum! We’re just watching cricket on TV (but unfortunately will miss the Men’s Australian Open Tennis Final later). And I’ll also miss Biggest Loser!! Okay, I’m not a TV addict but there are some things I don’t mind watching, haha!

As an aftermath from my previous post (https://ligurl27.wordpress.com/2014/01/24/gender-grievance-and-language-lament/), I have decided that I’ll focus on German and Japanese with Jacob. I already pretty much had my heart set on Japanese, but I know German will be good for him too. I’ll need to find out what he’ll be learning at school though – I guess with Malay, it’s a really easy language to learn so I can always teach him later.

Dan and I were showing Jacob some German kids videos earlier and we stumbled across this song, which just cracks me up:

Just a short post today because I’m heading out to a baby shower now – can’t wait! 🙂

One thought on “Australia Day

  1. My husband speaks fluent German (he lived there for two years). He would LOVE to teach Arthur German, we just haven’t made a commitment to do it yet… and it would mean i would have to learn too and I’m nervous that it will take a lot longer for me/ i will sound silly since he is so good!

Leave a Reply

