Food glorious food!

Today was a relatively stressful day. Apart from being hot, it’s just been a very clingy day for Jacob which didn’t give me much chance to get anything done. It’s quite hard because I do want to cuddle and laugh with him but I can’t do it every waking hour of his life. He is pretty adorable though.

ImageI’ve been having a bit of a struggle with feeding him lately, because he just wants to do things his way (which doesn’t always work). I initially wanted to follow the path of baby led weaning but I think I got a bit impatient because he just throws the food around and doesn’t eat very much at all. Part of it is also having to clean up food residue that gets everywhere. But then again, people usually start baby-led weaning around 6 months so perhaps I can reintroduce it at a later stage.

At the moment, Jacob gets a combination of mushy food, chunky food and cut-up finger food to eat. His favourites are probably avocado, carrot, pumpkin, watermelon and banana. Today he was in a real spitting mood though – either that, or he doesn’t like mango.

Anyway, I was really quite stressed out today so I decided to take it out in the kitchen – by making something delicious to eat! I told Daniel that if we don’t get time to go out for Valentines Day, this could probably pass off as our little celebration (except that I had to carry Jacob for half of my mealtime).

Image

It’s a bit hard to tell what this is, but it’s actually crumbed chicken roulade with zucchini filling, with a side of garlic chilli mushrooms. I sorta panicked halfway through because I realised I didn’t have breadcrumbs, but I did have bread – so I toasted two slices and chucked them into the food processor. It wasn’t too bad, though the breadcrumbs were a bit big for my liking. Despite how it looks, it was delicious (even if I say so myself!).

WP_20140212_016And I, the baking failure, actually baked something! Fair enough, it did come out of a packet (I didn’t have THAT much time today, you know!) but it was still really yummy with some lovely Adelaide Hills cherries.

In honest truth, I have NO idea what to do for Valentines Day itself. I can’t believe it’s only two days to go… I’m not really a roses type of girl (though I don’t mind heart shaped chocolates, or any sort of chocolates for that matter). But even if we don’t do anything on the day itself, it doesn’t really bother me. I think what’s more important is that we have romantic moments in everyday life, and to remember that before we were mummy and daddy, we were (and are) husband and wife.

What’s your plan for Valentines Day? 😉

6 thoughts on “Food glorious food!

    • Aw you flatter me! I’ve still got a lot to learn, haha. I heard from my mother’s group that babies eat about as much as the size of their fist only – so I suppose Jacob is getting enough. He spat cauliflower on my hair today though, sigh!

      • oh man, i was wondering how we “know” how much solid food babies need. i’m sure it varies from child to child but i really dislike the guesswork, especially when they can’t speak. it’s like our dogs but even more complex, argh! :p

Leave a Reply

