A whole 6 months!

I must apologise for the big break but I lost the momentum for a bit. Firstly, I must say a big congratulations to my friends Darren and Leah on the birth of their baby Lucas! What a gorgeous bub – can’t wait to see him again. I’ve also just been busy with a birthday party, meeting friends and relatives as well as just getting my house in order! So much to do!!!

Jacob actually turned 6 months old on Friday, and I thought rather than sit and blog about it, I’d just spend some time with him instead. But now he’s tucked into bed, here is Jacob’s 6 month update:

Height: Not sure but he’s wearing size 0

Weight: Roughly 8.1 kg

Head: Big 🙂

20140220_202551_Android

Milestones: He can sit up unassisted (though he sometimes falls over and has a big cry, only to see something interesting and forget why he was crying). He’s got himself into a crawling position but hasn’t started crawling yet (which I’m quite relieved about, to be honest).

Firsts: He got his first two teeth a week or so before he turned 6 months old. And I guess he’s tried quite a few new foods, including my strange combination of potato, parsnip and purple carrot mash.

mush

Sleep: He’s still not sleeping very well, though we sometimes get a good 5 hour stretch (which I can’t complain about, after his hourly wakings). Just a combination of a wonder week, growth spurt and teething one after the other.

Best Moments: When he smiles and laughs. Random things amuse him, like blowing on his face or playing peek-a-boo. My friend lent me her play table and Jacob was intrigued. Spent ages pressing the buttons and listening to the music play, almost like he was at a Roulette table.

20140224_090854_Android

Worst Moment: Perhaps I don’t dwell on worst moments. I suppose when he’s grumpy and tired and crying his eyes out at like 4 o’clock in the morning. Or when I finally get him to sleep after an hour, and the dog suddenly finds something to bark at and wakes him up. But Jacob still likes Skittles anyway!

20140221_175343_Android

Health: I am so blessed to have a happy and healthy baby! That being said, we do have immunisations on Thursday so fingers crossed that he doesn’t get a fever again. But even if he does, baby Panadol seemed to keep it at bay so let’s just hope it all passes!

Eating: He likes his food but he could be eating more – he just gets distracted way too easily! I am struggling to give him water though, because he refuses to drink it – regardless of whether it’s from the bottle, sippy cup, normal cup, etc. Strangely, he tries to drink bathwater when he’s in the bath…

20140222_100054_Android

Likes: Bath time (especially biting the rubber ducky), Drinking mummy’s milk, TV (which is hardly ever on), Meeting people, Cuddles, Having his photos taken, Being outdoors

Dislikes: Drinking water, Being left alone for more than 5 minutes, Cloth nappies, Staying at home all day, Going to bed at night

20140218_155744_Android

Funny things to note:
– In the bath, he almost always leans forward (probably to reach the taps, or to look for the rubber ducky) and gets a beard of bubbles.

– We have an Elmo ‘Wiggling friend’ rattle which we hang in the car for Jacob to play with. For a while, he was terrified of it when it did the vibrating ‘wiggling’ and would scream his head off! But he’s faced his fear and is no longer afraid of it anymore.

20140221_175439_Android

– He LOVES techie things like his dad. Sometimes he puts his hand into my handbag and steals my phone to play with. The cheek! He has taken selfies on the camera before. And whenever I’m typing, he needs to be typing too (on my keyboard). I think I’m going to make him a fake cardboard computer to play with.

– This is actually a funny one about my niece Esther – she told my mum in law the other day that there was a picture of Jacob on the fridge. They investigated the matter and realised that it was a picture of this Asian baby on the ABA magnet.

20140225_214045

I must admit it does look a bit like Jacob! So funny (and adorable). I think Esther and Jacob will be good friends.

cousinsJacob, thank you for lighting up my life. I have never loved like this before – you just want to make me drop all my agendas and just celebrate the moment with you. Forgive me if I ever don’t give you enough time, because that is something that can’t be taken back. Forgive me if I do not choose happiness in every moment with you – I am only human, but then again, so are you.

I look forward to many more days, months, years… moments to share with you. Part of me wishes that you wouldn’t grow up, because I want to have my cuddly baby forever and ever! But I look forward to seeing you achieve milestone after milestone, and grow up into a handsome young man who I will be proud of.

prayer

One thought on “A whole 6 months!

Leave a Reply

