Breakfast, prams and emergency haircuts.

Okay, I broke my promise and didn’t blog before the weekend! I guess a lot of things take priority over blogging unfortunately (i.e. feeding, changing, playing with baby, etc.) but I have been productive too, which is really great.

I might note that this is one of the few long weekends we have in Australia in conjunction with the Queen’s Birthday. Hooray for queens being born! 🙂 But really, it’s great to have Dan at home to spend some time with Jacob (and in turn, I can spend a bit of time setting up that little venture that I’m working on. Details soon!).

Firstly, random question – which of the following do you think Jacob would be most keen on eating? (Orange, Strawberry or Kiwifruit)

ImageAnswer: His own foot! I don’t know why he sits like that but he usually ends up like that by the end of every meal. Sometimes, when he’s wearing socks, he pulls them off and chews them. Odd baby. But really, I think he likes kiwifruit the best out of the three (though it might just be a passing fad).

On Saturday, we discovered a new game – air hockey but using a baby instead of a puck. Jacob was crawling around aimlessly so I set him down on the table, but he decided to continue crawling around. So some of us urged him on to crawl to us and very soon it became a back-and-forth thing. He thought we were chasing him and found it hilarious.

ImageIn all seriousness, it is a long way to the ground for that table so we were keeping full attention on him. It’s funny how, because of previous tumbles that he’s had before, that he knows when he’s in trouble. When he loses his footing at times, you can see the expression on his face change to shock – but if he’s saved by something or someone, relief comes over him and he sometimes laughs. Funny little boy he is.

One reason why I’d never make a good food blogger is because I always forget to take pictures of the food! Today we went out to breakfast at Virginia Nursery, which is an oasis out in a rural-ish farming area. Most of our friends (including Dan) had Eggs Florentine which was simply divine – I pigged out a bit and had a full vegetarian breakfast. All this was topped with the delicious Vienna Chocolates we had (and Jacob had a tiny spoonful of cream). 

Another thing on the agenda for us was to go to have a look at a pram at someone’s house near that nursery. Yes, I’ve officially joined the “multiple prams” gang. I know people with up to 4 prams for different uses/occasions! Our rationale was to get a pram for travel – while our red one (Steelcraft Compact) is strong and sturdy, it’s a bit too bulky to travel with.

Image
Jacob’s very first pram ride! We only bought the pram after he was born, so he came along to choose his pram!

Initially I was thinking of buying the cheapest pram possible (maybe the Kmart or Big W pram) but was concerned that it’d either be too flimsy or too uncomfortable for Jacob. So, I resorted to my favourite place to grab bargains – Gumtree! I found an awesome Steelcraft Express that was almost brand new for just $40!

ImageIt’s so new that the plastic is still on the footrest! Not sure if Jacob approves of it, but time will tell…

On a final note, silly me was cooking with my hair untied; I reached to get something and burned my hair! I hate burned hair because it gets all frizzy and smelly! (and yes, I’ve done it a few times before). I couldn’t be bothered going to a salon so I just gave myself a haircut! What do you think?

ImageOkay, my hair might just be getting a tad bit too bushy. I love having thick hair but really, it can get rather forest-like at times. Oh wait, you weren’t looking at me or my hair – you were looking at my gorgeous little boy. And that’s fine by me. 🙂 

Happy weekend (and happy week) everyone!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Breakfast, prams and emergency haircuts.

Leave a Reply

